December Dreaming

Moonman

December Dreaming

Post by Moonman »

Well its all come down to this… The final month of the FFF Barra Challenge! A lot of time and effort has gone into this competition, but has seen many highlights throughout the year. The past couple of months have been the hardest by far, but a bit of luck has come my way. I figured I’d get an early start on December hoping to get something decent on the board. An overnighter to the Daly was on the cards and saw a mate and I fishing the crossing till 2am. We managed 6 fish for the night with my best being 72cm. At least that was a start and the 12 month challenge was completed. This however wasn’t as big as I’d been hoping for, so the following afternoon saw us launch the tinny and head upstream. We had a successful afternoon catching plenty of fish but most were only in the 60’s. The fella I was fishing with managed a 78cm model that he pulled from the sticks, while I was smoked into the snags by a similar sized fish. It came down to the final few casts of the day when I finally hooked up solid but wasn’t sure the size of the fish. It had me wrapped in some logs and I could feel my line rubbing as it tried to run. Luckily the fish freed itself and came to the surface and into the net. A good fish was landed and measured on the brag mat. 85cm of Daly River silver barra, and the perfect finish to a great day on the water.

The following weekend saw Cyclone Laurence dump a hell of a lot of rain in the Darwin area. I wasn’t too sure how this would affect things, but didn’t think it would be good. As I had a friend coming up from Alice and I’d promised to take her fishing, we journeyed out to Shady Fresh. I didn’t think there had been as much rain out that way and a quick look at the radar before we left showed clear skies. It bucketed down on the way out til just after coroboree so things were looking good. Arrived at the ramp to find the billabong had risen a lot more than I had expected and was now just running over the barrage. We launched the boat and headed upstream to find the water was dirty as. Half an hour of trolling later and the rain hit us and continued for the whole afternoon. We found a small creek that was running into the main billabong and there was a bit of action on the surface. We threw popper around for a while for a couple of half hearted hits before I finally hooked up to a decent fish. A few good runs and a couple of just and it was in the boat. Another victim of my home made lure and probably the biggest it had seen at 83cm. A couple more rats were dropped before we headed up to the top rockbar. There were big fish boofing all around us but no matter what we threw at them we couldn’t get a hit. Back down to the barrage to see a dozen people fishing off it and one guy had landed 2 average fish. There were masses of mullet on the fresh side and the tide had just started to push back over the barrage. Must have been frustrating for the guys on the barrage who couldn’t get a touch, while barras were boofing right behind them on the salt side. A quick troll before pulling out saw me land another rat but that was it for the day. A fair bit slower than previous weeks.

A call from a mate with a hot tip off saw me drive out to Daly to fish the crossing. There were fish boofing everywhere and I spent hours casting the banks for only one rat by 1am. I finally called it quits and headed home for work the next morning. The things we do for a barra!!

Boxing Day saw Liam and barra virgin Arlo hit the Daly. The river had dropped 2 metres in two day so we thought it would fire for sure. The arvo saw us upstream of the crossing for zip. Only a couple of touches late in the day. The other boats that had been up there all day managed 2 fish between them. Day two saw us head downstream to find most creeks void of any water flowing out of them. One creek had some dirty water pumping out and a few barra boofing along the edges. A few casts in and I hooked up and landed a nice 60 odd for the esky followed by another thousand cast before I landed my second fish at 78cm. The other boys casts their arms off for absolutely nothing, although Liam did hookup for about half a second and Arlo got a hit which was the closest he’s been to catching a barra yet. It was frustrating to watch the fish right in front of our eyes but after a million lure changes it wasn’t to be so we headed for home.

A last ditch effort saw Liam and I fish manton at night. Not really knowing the place it took us a while to find any action but managed 3 fish for the night. I got a 67 and a 79 and Liam somehow landed a big swampy 91cm that had him in wrapped in the weeds for a while there but came flying out, launching itself from the water.

So that’s pretty much it for 2009, unless I get a last minute crack at casino creek on the way to discovery tonight ay Jonesy?? HAHA!! Hmmm… Maybe I have one more trip up my sleeve???

Moonman

Lots of great fish there Moonman!!1 Especially like the 83 Shady Fresh on a home made lure. Well in and all the best for New Year.
Dave M

Post by Dave M »

Nice work Moonman, you young guys have put in the hard yards this year and the results are impressive.

Dave M

2009 fff barra challenge winner - moonman

well done mate. i did it tough this month. managed a 77cm on the 30th. just hapy to have completed the challenge as it was looking like i was going to luck out.
i think i passed u the highway on my way back from the daly when u were going manton.

cheers :drinking1:

Well done Moonman ,you work hard at it mate so deserve the rewards.The old saying the harder you work the luckier you get rings true here :bow:

Congratulations Moonman and CB on bringing it down to the wire guys. :mrgreen: NIKO

well done great year, have good one at disco to cellebrate :mrgreen: :cheers:
Petto

Post by Petto »

Good work Moony bl..dy great to see the final result the way it is... :cheers: :cheers:
Work to Live, dont live to Work.

:bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: Words fail me Moonman great effort by you to come home strong. :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: :bow: I know how much effort it took me to get my result and CB and yourself have proved that you are in your own league. Congrats.

Pete :drinking1:

On Ya mate :mrgreen: you put the hard yards in and deserve all of the praise. :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :clap: :clap:
meterclubwannabe

Post by meterclubwannabe »

8-) great post! What a great finish to the year. Well done on completing the challenge
Cheers MCWB
------------------------
no longer a wannabe....indaclub 15 april 2009 and stoked!
Buckaneer2

Post by Buckaneer2 »

Well done Moonman, I know the number of hours i put in this year & it was not easy. you must of at least doubled that & with a lot more success. 8-) :cheers:
Smile, be happy & go fishing.

Work is getting in the way of my fishing.
My boss says fishing is getting in the way of my work.
I will soon fix both of our problems by quitting.
Moonman

Post by Moonman »

Thanks to everyone for their comments and thanks for a great year on the water... Its been full on, but has been well worth the effort! Hope you all have as much luck as I've had in the new year!

Moonman