12 from 12

12 from 12

After a very slow start to the month fishing wise we finaly got motivated to head out after xmas.

First up we gave the Finniss a crack launching in the fresh on boxing day. The water levels looked good (80 - 90cm in the culvert) but we struggled to find fish and the few that we hooked all managed to spit our lures in short order.

Yesterday we gave buff creek a go land based for the turn of the tide and again the only fish hooked took great delight in throwing the lure.

Today it was a last ditch crack on the Adelaide. I was originally going to head to Bynoe for a fish but a late night call from the big fellah convinced me that Saltwater arm was the go today. He assured me that they were leaping into the boat down that way.

We had never fished the bottom of the Adelaide so thought we would take the risk and head into the unknown.
First stop was wilshire number 1 the water was clean being a reasonably neap low. We trolled the mouth initially and then worked our way up the Creek. Half an hour or so in and I got a solid hit that stuck and was rewarded with the sight of a solid bazz jumping out the back. It gave me a bit of stick to start with doing its best to find the numerous snags that lined the bank. I managed to get it into clear water and then it decided to take to the air launching into a series of big jumps, my lure fortunately hanging in for the duration. A quality net shot from MCWB and the job was done.
I was pumped as I thought I was going to dip out in December.

MCWB hooked up shortly after but it was not to be as the hooks let go quickly, it may have been lucky as the boat behind us that was kind enough to be trolling over our lures at the time would most likely have cutt it off any way. :-?

Paul took the opportunity to hit the jewies on the turn with good results while MCWB and I continued to flick lures around.

Pete

smoking reels

Post by smoking reels »

Nice effort chief! A mate hit the Adelaide on Sunday, boating an 83cm version plus some smaller fish and other species. He said there was some good fish getting smashed at the mouth aswell! I finish my roster at Jabiru tomorrow so might hit the Salty under arm for a crack. Cheers for the report! :mrgreen:

Congrats faulksy on 12 from 12 man :mrgreen:

great work mate, nice december fish :mrgreen: and well done on the 12. you got sum good ones this year :cheers:
PilbaraBrad

Post by PilbaraBrad »

12 from 12 , mate i wish i could pull that off down here, congrats!

Well done on completing the challenge :bow: :bow: :drinking1: :drinking1:

Hi Faulksy,

You seem to have had a ripper of a year.
Congratulation on completing the challenge!
:applause:

Well done pete. :applause: :applause: :applause: that is a great effort in anyones books...

We dropped 1 barra for the day but the jewies made up for it... :shock:

On ya Faulksy with your 12 from 12 :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Good on ya Faulksy for completing the Challenge. I have enjoyed reading about you and MCWBs efforts for the year. Look forward to more posts in the new year.

Dingo :smoking:

Great work Faulksy!

Congratulations, sometimes the simple ones come tougher than expected :applause:
Dave M

Post by Dave M »

Good job Faulksy :bow: I bet every jump had the heart in the mouth. It would be a shame to see anyone miss out in the last month.

Dave M

Right down to the line,
Great finish to a stellar season mate. Definitley up there in the Downlow vote count!! :mrgreen:
Great posts all year and Congratulations on a dirty dozen :drinking1:
Cheers Muntzy.

Return to “Barramundi Reports”